On Blogging

I haven’t really posted any of my “asides” lately, and just focused on posting my sketches. There is actually a reason for that, and one that I have been rolling around in my mind for about a week – letting it settle into my subconscious until some kind of solution or decision is formed for me. I guess writing this post means that has finally happened.

I gave my blog URL to my professor at MassArt, and then… I panicked. This was maybe a week or two into the project and if you’ve been with me that long you might remember that my sketches in those first few weeks were *ahem* less than ideal. But it was a good decision, because it forced me to think in terms of “if my professor could see this, would it embarrass me?” No, seriously, I think that is a good thing! It’s the accountability aspect of this project that will keep me going. If I were trying to do this in the privacy of my own home, just for myself, then I would most likely have stopped by now. I don’t like to admit that about myself, but there it is. So, having a blog where I publicly post my sketches and, more importantly, having an audience that expects decent work from me, is crucial.

When I saw my professor the following week, she commented that it seemed like I was spending more time writing than drawing. She didn’t say it in a negative way but matter-of-fact, and said that maybe that was something to think about (which it has been). She was totally right, and when I looked at my work I could see it was glaringly obvious. So the question became, do I stop writing and focus only on the sketches?

I’ve decided that answer is no – but, I should make sure that my sketches are the priority and that the majority of my time should be focused on that. So, I will still write sometimes, because to be honest I really love it. I didn’t expect to, but I’ve missed it in the past week. I will start writing my occasional asides again, but keep it in my mind that they are second fiddle to the drawing. If I want to write an especially long post, I will just have to spend more time drawing that week!

The thing that finally pushed me to write about this was a post by another new blogger, which was recently chosen to be featured on the Freshly Pressed section of WordPress. In it, she talks about what she has learned and I (along with a couple hundred other new bloggers!) found that I related to it. And it seemed timely, considering I was questioning what I wanted out of this experience. Rather than sum it up here, I’ll just link to it so that you can read it in it’s original form:

3 Things I've Learned From a Month of Blogging Today marks one month since I started this blog, so I decided to take a minute and reflect on what I’ve learned in the past month.  I’ve posted every week day since I started, which I find amazing.  Quite a few people read what I write, which I find even more amazing.  And some even share what I write with their friends, which I find amazingly amazing.  Mostly, I’m shocked at how easily I’ve fallen into this process and how much I value it. But I … Read More

via Dendrochronology

4 responses to “On Blogging

  1. I liked this because I feel like I haven’t been taking my blog seriously enough for the opposite reason. I don’t write enough. I make my project/drawing/whathaveyou for the day, post it with a little blurb and be done with it. This has me really considering the depth of my blogging experience. I’m not really a writer in the sense that I enjoy writing, because I don’t. So, this has me wracking my brain for new ideas on how to enhance my blogging experience for myself and for viewers. Thanks for this!

    • I’m glad to hear that! =) This whole process has definitely been more of a challenge overall than I expected. It’s much more involved than just the sketches – but I’ve started to embrace the whole package. I look forward to seeing the fruits of your brainstorming!

  2. Hi Kara,
    Good luck finding a balance for the things that are important to you! It IS hard – especially at this point in your life. You seem to good at reflecting and figuring out what you want – so I think you’ll find a way.
    Best ~Mindy

    • Hi Mindy! Thanks so much for coming by and reading my post – and for inspiring it in the first place. I appreciate the encouraging words, =) Whatever happens, I am looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

