Day 40 – A Book (literally)

In order to get jump-started back into this blog, now that my life is slightly less hectic, I decided that I would cheat a little bit and post something that isn’t technically a drawing. It’s actually a book that I had to create for my Typography class. I figured that I spent so many hours working on it that it deserved a place in here – and besides, working on it left little time (and creative energy) to work on other side drawings.

The assignment was to choose portions of characters (letters, numbers, punctuation, etc.), one from each of five typefaces that she gave to us. Then we created these 6″ x 6″ squares with those portions. Finally, we put them together in an aesthetically pleasing way to form what is called an accordion book. I then wrapped it nicely in tracing paper to keep it clean.

Book – Flat:Book - Flat

Book – Standing:Book - Standing

Book, Wrapped – Front:Book, Wrapped - Front

Book, Wrapped – Back:Book, Wrapped - Back

I wish the pictures were better quality, but it gives you an idea. It was a lot of work but it was pretty fun in some ways, too! I am proud of the finished product and that is always a good feeling.

For those of you that want to know what the characters are that I used, they are (from left to right): The “7” from Clarendon, the question mark from Centaur, the question mark from Futura, the upper case “Q” from Baskerville, and the upper case “N” from Didot. =)

Leave a Reply

