One year later… (considering a blog relaunch)

I keep randomly thinking about how I want to draw something. Nothing in particular, just something. In fact, I keep having random memories from the time that I took that Saturday morning drawing/charcoal class at MassArt a few years back, and wanting something like that again. It was helpful because it was 4 hours long – where are you going to go? You just have to stay there and do it!

But, life being what it is, I find that I tend to let the creative ventures fall by the wayside instead of being a priority. I have to work, go to the gym, food shop, cook, do laundry, take a shower, a number of other chores and responsibilities (shit, I still have to finish my taxes! arghhh) and by the time I actually sit down at the end of the night – well, I just don’t want to do a damn thing except watch something on Netflix and cuddle my kitties. So even the things I have to do are hard to squeeze in, let alone things I simply want to do. And the weekends? Well, that’s my time to spend with my partner and my friends, or else be completely lazy. I might get some creativity in then, but not always. I know, I know, I’m just full of excuses. But when being creative neither pays the bills nor gets the chores done…

So, what kinds of things would I do with time set aside to be creative?

  • Sketching, with pencil or charcoal
  • Knitting & crocheting
  • Bookbinding
  • Playing piano
  • Writing

What this leads me to is that I think I may attempt to revive this blog (almost exactly a year since my last post, ha), because it might help give me the impetus to actually make that time in my day to do something creative… The question is, do I make it open-ended (just do something everyday, no matter what it is) or more specific – like a particular medium (charcoal, knitting, etc), or a theme, like the guy that does a skull everyday in some form or another?

Please share your thoughts and ideas! I am going to ponder of this myself for the next few days. I have a number of other things I am trying to achieve aside from this project, but I think that if I commit to doing something creative, no matter how small, every day – I will be better off for it and it will help me in other areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

